The Tempered Radical- (Story: “Skills Matter More than Tools”)

I’ve become a huge fan of “The Tempered Radical”- written by Bill Ferriter

(If I’m correct- His blog is part of the TLN: Teacher Leaders Network)

TLN- Teachers Leaders Network pic

His writings are very insightful and when he discusses education topics- he hits “the nail on the head”… and I haven’t seen him miss once- If you are not following his blog already- you should be! Here’s a link to it and the following article: http://bit.ly/eBgxzk


New Slide: Skills Matter More Than Tools

A few weeks ago, I wrote a bit that captured a good bit of attention titled Making Good Technology Choices.  In it, I argued that teachers need to check to see if the skills that they are spending time on in their classrooms pass the endurance-leverage-readiness test.

That’s a theme echoed throughout my technology book,Teaching the iGeneration—which was spotlighted on the Education Week website today.

Considering all of the positive mojo around the idea that skills are far more important than tools, I figured I’d whip up a slide that y’all could use in the work you’re doing to convince teachers to place their attention on good teaching instead of good technology.

Here it is.  Hope you can use it:

Essential outcomes Slide-pdf.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *