online literacy resources

Welcome back to School!!!

schoolhouseMost educators and students are now back to school or will be back to school, by Tuesday September 7th, 2010. For those who are already back and looking for Literacy Center ideas- I wanted to share some resources with you that I came across myself.

The first website was a GREAT one with lots of great links to other sites. It is called The School Bell. The School Bell has great resources and ideas for Word Wall, Dolch Sight words, Math Centers, Literacy Centers, and much more.

Another helpful resource, which is one that I have blogged about before, is SanchezClass.com. If you click the link and you do not enter immediately, make sure to “Enter” the website and then go into the “Teacher’s corner”… I found loads of great ideas in the Curriculum Resources Section! Most of the information on the site is geared towards grades K-6- and it’s wonderful information too!!

FCRR– is the Florida Center for Reading Research- not only are the resources all research based but they are all FREE! At FCRR, there are downloadable literacy centers geared towards every grade level, k-5, and for almost every skill you can imagine. The only problem (if you can even call it a problem) is that you have to look through all of the material to find what you need or you might as well download it all! There are assessments as well, available, monitoring tools, checklists…. pretty much everything you can ever need for literacy is here.

One of the tools that I definitely want to use this year as a resource and literacy station is the classroom computer. I have four computers this year and definitely want to use them to increase literacy skills. In my search for tools, I have come across the following programs (I hope you might find them useful too)

Teaching Heart- One more additional source for Literacy Centers: http://teachingheart.net/LC.htm

Of course, if one cannot find what he/she needs at any of the sites above…then the following site is the “GO TO PLACE” to find anything you need- a must “follow” and a must “newsletter” to subscribe to— Larry Ferlazzo’s Blog- He blogs about All things educational… http://larryferlazzo.edublogs.org/

If you do not find what you need for Literacy Centers using the resources above and need something in particular- Let me know- I am attaching some resources that I am using in particular for my own classroom; such as directions for the Poetry Center, Sentence Making forms, Listening Station Response sheet, etc…

I hope you enjoy the resources… Let me know by leaving a comment!!!

Center Extension Activities (from READWRITETHINK)

Center Sheet  (the following are from -SchoolBell and TeachingHeart.net- Check both sites for more great materials!)

Poetry Center ideas

Literacy Box Recording Sheet

Read Around the Room

Spelling Contract

SpellingBuddy Test

Weekly Reader Report

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *